Tags

, , , , ,

41mns55g0zl-_sy300_Just for the heck of it, I decided to review every single CD, vinyl and tape in my collection. A long-running project of mine has been to listen through my whole collection in order, format by format, and in conjunction with this I will write reviews of variable length of each item. Just because I can… or think I can. That’s roughly 3000 items and counting to write about, excluding the few albums I’ve already reviewed in the blog.

Starting in the middle of wading through my CD collection, the first album in this daunting task is British synth pop pioneer OMDs’ fifth album, Junk Culture. In contrast to some of their previous efforts, this is a decidedly understated album with the vocals and bass basically carrying most songs, with synthesizers and other instruments being used quite sparsely on most tracks.

After the opening instrumental which has the same name as the album, Junk Culture continues with the two highlights on the album: the oddly catchy and seemingly nonsensical Tesla Girls, of which there is a ludicrous video, and Locomotion. From there, the rest of the album is downhill. The understated and minimalistic nature of the arrangements really detracts from the compositions, rendering virtually the whole album extremely dull and tedious. A dull bassline and the in themselves quite passable vocals of the dynamic duo of McCluskey and Humphreys just aren’t enough.

Despite two rather good tracks, Junk Culture is too dull and flat to be even a mediocre album.

